Club History

Rathpeacon GAA was founded in 1943 and competed for several years in the city division before going out of existence. The club was revived in 1960 and again affiliated to the City Division. Initially, the club competed in minor and junior but regraded to junior B with the introduction of the B championships in 1961. Football was the stronger code and after winning the city junior B football championship in 1962, the club was promoted to the A grade. Rathpeacon contested 1964 city junior A football final only to be beaten by Na Piarsaigh by a point. The following year Rathpeacon won its first junior A title beating Mayfield to win the McSweeney cup.

Many of the players played with the Seandún teams, notably John Murphy, Jim Twomey, Pat Joe Sheehan, Pascal Goggin, Denis Murphy, Liam McAulliffe and John Joe Kearney. Liam McAulliffe played with the Cork minor hurling team in 1966 which as beaten by Wexford after a replay.

The lack of population and of youth replacement finally forced the club to go out of existence in 1973. The club was re-founded in 1984 and after struggling initially, success came in winning the 1990 Seandún Cup. We also reached the final of the 1990 county junior b hurling championship. In 1991 Rathpeacon won the county B Football Championship, the club’s first county title.

The club continues to place an equal emphasis on hurling and football. We have enjoyed many successes since the turn of the millennium winning five city championship titles, three in football and two in hurling. The club has also contested four county finals, two in hurling and two in football.

Roll of honour:

County junior B football championship winners: 1991, runners up 2003 and 2004

County junior B hurling championship runners up: 1990, 2010 and 2012

McSweeney Junior A cup winners: 1965

City junior B football championship winners: 1961, 1962, 2004 and 2013

City junior B hurling championship winners: 1961, 1990, 2002 and 2012

City junior C football championship winners: 2009 and 2019